The Brain Prize 2018, recognises four outstanding scientists for their groundbreaking research in helping us try to understand the genetic and molecular basis of Alzheimer’s disease. Professors Bart De Strooper, Michel Goedert, Christian Haas and John Hardy, have all been collectively recognised for their remarkable contribution to neuroscience, with the world’s most valuable prize for brain research (awarded by the Lundbeck Foundation) worth a total value of one million Euros.

Citing the press release from the Lundbeck Foundation:

“The research pioneered by these four European scientists has revolutionised our understanding of the changes in the brain that lead to Alzheimer´s disease and related types of dementias … This year’s Brain Prize winners have individually and together, made essential contributions to the genetic and molecular knowledge of Alzheimer’s disease which are the foundations for finding new ways to diagnose, treat and possibly even prevent it and other devastating diseases of the ageing brain.”

The scientists

Share this story ...